• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Increase speed and power

lgurley

Donation Time
I recently purchased a SIV which had been converted to use a Toyota motor and tranny. I have a spare 1725 and tranny. I will be changing back to all Alpine.

I am a novice at this. I will not be racing but since the engine and transmission are already out of the car I would like to have it rebuilt to run well at highway speeds for long trips.

Do you have any tips about using larger pistons, different valves, shaving the head, changing the stroke, and things of this nature or anything else that will help.

Thanks,

Larry

RootesRacer

Donation Time
I recently purchased a SIV which had been converted to use a Toyota motor and tranny. I have a spare 1725 and tranny. I will be changing back to all Alpine.

I am a novice at this. I will not be racing but since the engine and transmission are already out of the car I would like to have it rebuilt to run well at highway speeds for long trips.

Do you have any tips about using larger pistons, different valves, shaving the head, changing the stroke, and things of this nature or anything else that will help.

Thanks,

Larry

Cam and carb changes are your biggest bang for buck.
You can pick up an easy 15 to 20 bhp with these alone.
Carb would be a 32/36 or 38/38 2bbl weber on a SIV solex intake.

Stroking the engine will require different rods, or pistons or both.