• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Engine stalling

Paul67

Gold Level Sponsor
I have a 67 SV with the weber conversion and manifold from SS.
When I bought the car a couple of years ago it had the wrong carbs and manifold and wasnt running. So I have no experience of how it ran before I put the weber on.
First of all the RPMs are around 800-850 at idle via tiny tech. Any lower and it runs rough and can stall on it own.
Here are the symptoms:
I'm driving and come to a light and it stalls. It will crank but not start.
I can be driving for 2 mins or an hour before this happens.
It can take 10 seconds, 2 mins, 10 mins or longer before it will start again.
It seems to stumble as the RPM drops slowing for a light. Blipping the throttle as I slow to a stop will keep if from stalling but as I dont have my handbrake connected sometimes I cant sync my heel and toeing of the brake and accelerator pedals and clutch at the same time and it stalls.
So to recap I can stop it from stalling with some fancy footwork on a level surface but once it stalls its game over until it decides it wants to start again.
It will always start and idle from cold.
Any suggestions of what these symptoms suggest would be much appreciated.

Paul67

Gold Level Sponsor
And yes I do understand that I need fuel air and spark! I was hoping for someone with the same symptoms to point me in the most likely direction. Sadly when this has happened I have not had a spark tester on me. It does seem to be getting gas but please see the symptoms above. Thanks!!