• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Brake Fluid Warning Light

Nickodell

Donation Time
This is a project I have been toying with for some 20 years. Next to losing steering, nothing is more dangerous than a sudden loss of braking, and cars like our beloved 'pines are liable to this through loss of hydraulic fluid at any time, either because of a fluid leak or by its being ingested by the vacuum booster.

Many of us have experienced that cold clutch to the heart when the pedal goes to the floor without having any retardation on the vehicle. I've had it twice, first on my wife's Volvo P1800 and some years ago on Matilda (both using the same booster.) Luckily, both instances were on starting up and backing the car out of the garage, so no accident.

Some members have overcome this problem by installing a dual master cylinder, which is OK but doesn't totally prevent the possibility of an accident as in the case of a leak it leaves only half of the braking power. What was needed, I thought, was an automatic warning light that would illuminate whenever the fluid in the reservoir dropped more than, say, half an inch.

I am glad to say that the O'Dell Mk.1 Low Brake Fluid Warning System is finally installed and working. Being a generous sort of chap, I offer this to the Alpine world free of charge. It is applicable to the Series V, or others using the same plastic reservoir and cap, but may be adaptable to earlier models.