• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

A Question For All You Mechanics

napa 1

Donation Time
I'm not a mechanic, but have enjoyed becoming familiar with my Alpine's engine, and learning as I go. While my car has proven reliable, I've often wondered what I would do if the car konked out on me somewhere between A and B. Would I have the ability to diagnose the fault and get it up and running again ? A question for all of you with real mechanical experience and ability.. What would be the sequence of things to check in the event that the car stops running en route. I've heard people say things like, 1) is it getting spark 2) is it getting fuel 3) etc.
Is there a mechanic's mantra or order of things to check to hopefully find the problem?

thanks in advance.

John.

Duke

Donation Time
You are onto it. Fuel, spark and air.

All of this following is if the engine is turning over normally but does not start.

Air - the easiest. Make sure air filter is not clogged. Better yet, remove air filter and check to make sure carb is open.

Fuel - manually open throttle and look into carb to see if fuel is being injected. If fuel is not being squirted into the carb when activating the throttle, no fuel. Check fuel filter, lines and then fuel pump. Easy way - spray some starting fluid or WD-40 into carb and then turn engine over. Engine starts then dies, you have a fuel problem.