• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

'66 Alpine Negative-Positive thing

rixter

Gold Level Sponsor
Hello,

I am a newbie, both as a new 1966 Alpine owner and new to the forum. I am trying to figure something out with this car with respect to the orientation of the elecftrical system. EVERYTHING I've researched thus far has pointed to this model (V), being a negative ground vehicle. However, the previous owner has the positive side of the battery going to ground at the battery case and the negative side (black wire in this car), going to the solenoid. Hooking things up the "proper" way (negative to ground, positive toward the solenoid), has the starter working properly, all lights, wipers, turn signals and horn working properly. But the electric fuel pump (I'm assuming an update to the car), appears to be running backwards. That makes some sense if he had the battery attached the other way, but I find that very odd. Were there any circumstances where someone would desire to return this particular model back to a positive ground setup? I thought from my research that the recommendation was to switch the earlier models TO negative ground. My goal is to return things to the standard set up. This car definitely has an alternator. My additional question would be "what else is going to be sensitive to reverse polarity that I need to be aware of?".

Thank you.

Rick

gordonra

Donation Time
Hi and welcome to the Alpine world!