• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

next steps

birdfan56

Platinum Level Sponsor
Hi, I am new to Alpines & have a very rust-free 67 in need of restoration. I am planning to do a V6 conversion. What would be the best donor engine and transmission to obtain? Are certain years more desireable? Thanks for any assistance on this.

V6 JOSE

Donation Time
Hi, I am new to Alpines & have a very rust-free 67 in need of restoration. I am planning to do a V6 conversion. What would be the best donor engine and transmission to obtain? Are certain years more desireable? Thanks for any assistance on this.
If you can do a search on this board, I think you will find what you are looking for. This subject has been discussed quite extensively before.

Jose

Jim E

Donation Time
Yeah it has been pretty well hashed over but in short. I like the Ranger/Bronco II version of the 2.8, not sure of teh years they were produced with teh engine off the top of my head. The R/BII version has flanged thrust washers and the cam has larger journals, not that either of these things is a big deal but it also has the right oil pan and will have teh oil filter adaptor both of which you do need. The T5 from a later Mustang with the 3.8 is seems to be teh trans of choice right now.

V6 JOSE

Donation Time
Hi Birdfan,

I'm sorry I thought you could find all the vehicles that the 2.8 V6 came in, but I tried to use the search function and couldn't find it. Maybe it is just because I don't know how to manage it, but I came up empty handed.