• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

New member in Alabama in need of lot of help

ladybeamer

Donation Time
Hello!
I'm new to the SAOCA. Just got my first Alpine, thought it was a 61 series 2 but the numbers say it's series 1. My car needs lots of engine work I'm afraid and I'll be looking to you guys for as much info as you'll give me.
I don't know much about these cars, I saw one years ago at a show and fell in love with it. I found this one while surfing ebay one night and bought it site unseen. I want to get this going with my daughter and teach her that girls can work on cars also.
It was shipped from California. The guy I bought it from said it ran but upon getting it home and putting a new battery in I can't get it to turn over. What I think is the solenoid makes a clicking noise. I've attached a picture of the car and the part making the clicking noise.
I'm not sure if I should post on the purist or the modified forum. I'm not a pure purist, I'll leave as much original as possible but I want it to run, run well and be as dependable as possible. I don't want to make major changes like a totally different engine, but I do want to change the interior color scheme. I will make any changes needed to get it mechanically sound though.
Which forum should I post to?
I live in Daphne AL if there are any sunbeam people in the area that would like a challenge.
I look forward to learning from all of you, Caroline

Attachments

• 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 37
  • Sunbeam 000.jpg
    Sunbeam 000.jpg