• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

hardtop fit?

jimfai

Donation Time
may sound like a silly question, but before sending my hard earned money off i just wanted to make sure; will a hardtop on a 1967 fit right on to my 1968? thanks, happy and safe memorial day.

Bill Blue

Platinum Level Sponsor
I have no experience with the factory hardtops, but from what I've heard, each installation is somewhat of a custom fit. By that, I mean do not plop it on and expect it to fit perfectly, or even have all the attachment points to function properly. At least not all at the same time. It will probably take some adjusting, especially to have the hardtop AND the soft top to fit.

Bill

65beam

Donation Time
fit

bill is right about the hardtop not being a simple set it on and go . the shop that restored the series 4 had to readjust the windshield frame, trunk lid, soft top frame and windows so that the soft top and hard top both fit right. even though the soft top frame fit, the hardtop latches would not snap in place on the windshield. he also had to shave down the rubber hard top corner pads. it seems the aftermarket pads are thicker than originals. he also had to use rubber shims under the B post caps for the snaps to work right. now I know why there was rubber under them originally. now the windows set in the rubber around the frame and the windows properly fit the hardtop. everything fits good after several weeks of work .

jimfai

Donation Time
hardtop