• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Series 3 ST vent hose routing

rixter

Gold Level Sponsor
Hello,

I am trying to make heads or tails out of a series 3 ST that has been sitting for years and I have no knowledge of how it ran before sitting. Can anyone post an engine compartment photo of an original Alpine series 3 ST with the twin Zenith carbs? Specifically I'd like to see a stock setup for the hose routing for the crankcase ventilation. I had assumed they utilized the draft/road tube on Alpines through series 3, but my car has the up swung tube on the tappet cover. It would not surprise me if the set up on my car was not original, but I also think it is possible that this is stock. What is odd is that there is no PCV valve I can find. The mesh screen filters on both carbs have hose ports. One goes to the oil filler neck side port and the other hose goes to the tube on the side tappet cover. How would this arrangement flow? There also appears to be no protection against backfires from the carbs to get to the crankcase.

Any study of PCV systems has always had me spinning more than the flow of the gases. On a series 5, I assumed the flow was from the air filters, through the flame trap, through the oil filler neck on the valve cover... then out the tappet cover pipe to be pulled through the PCV into the intake manifold. Someone correct me if I have that wrong.