• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Lucas Ignition Switches (Better Options?)

loose_electron

Donation Time
Hey All!

So last night I come back to my SB sitting in the parking lot. It's well past sundown and there's condensation all over the car.

Key in the ignition, try to start and nothing.
Three tries later and it fires right up.

Now considering I'm an electrical engineer and I rewired the car myself, I know that this is due to the ignition switch contacts not functioning properly. Dirty contacts, or (probably) condensation inside the ignition switch.

That said, it's a Lucas ignition switch, bought new from Sunbeam Specialties about 3 years ago.

Anybody had a similar problem, or can suggest a better quality ignition switch substitution?

Thanks,
Jerry

Tom H

Platinum Level Sponsor
Never had a bad contact in the ignition switch in 50 yrs of beaming. But I have had an intermittent solenoid. The spade lug where the wire from the ignition switch connects to the solenoid had a bad solder joint. Solenoid would not engage. But the least shift or shake would make it work.

An earlier time the solenoid ground was poor so solenoid was intermittent.

Tom

DanR

Diamond Level Sponsor
Jerry, That is a new one to me. I have never had an ignition switch problem. Fingers crossed:)

Recognizing your background in Electric stuff makes me feel really, really good too:)

loose_electron

Donation Time
Dan and Tom -