• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Can someone advise on Wheel Offset

A

Andy Kayll

Hi everyone, I am new to alpines and have recently bought a Series V
I have plans to fit a Megajolt systen (kit is on it's way) and will let you know how it goes but my knowlage of wheel geometry is nill...
I have a set of Wires with bolt on hubs and that is all cool but I also have a set of slot mags (13" x 5.5") that I was going to keep but when I measured the stock wheels the distance from the point the wheel sits on the drum to the centre of the wheel is around 27mm (I am told this is negative offset).
The slot mags are only 10mm for the same measurement.
How would this effect the handling / are these wheels useable our shall I ditch them?

Andy

Bill Blue

Platinum Level Sponsor
Andy, as the slot wheels are wider than the Alpine wheels, you no longer can fit the wheels by offset as the wider wheel will interfere with the upper ball joint. Best to match up the backset, which is the distance from mounting surface to outside of rim.

Doing some quick mental math, I'd say these wheels would be a pretty close fit. If the center of the wheel sticks out beyond the original location, it will cause the car to steer harder. How much harder is determined by the amount of mismatch. In any case, a wheel that is reasonably close usually works fine.

Bill

V_Mad

Donation Time
Hi Andy.
I generally go for an offset of between 20mm and 30mm depending on wheel width.