• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

65 SIV V8 conversion

1fineAlpine

Gold Level Sponsor
Hello everyone, I am new to not only the forum, but to the Sunbeam world as well. My mom used to date a guy in the 80's who raced a very hopped up Tiger, and from her stories about the car my interest sparked and I eventually got an Alpine with a 302ci V8 Ford already in progress. I've only had the car for a week now, and spent most the time sealing the floors and other spots to make sure rust won't start during winter. It's been raining and cold where I am for a while now so I haven't worked on the car much, but I'm about to gear up for what I can do during the winter once I store my Corvette so I can use my garage for the Alpine. The car is very complete, but mostly disassembled. I will ask more "how to assemble" questions next year after I paint everything, but my main questions for now are, what would be a good axle to use for the V8? I did lots of reading on various google searches, but most people were just starting out and most answers led to a V6 swap instead (which are awesome, but I'm gonna stick with the V8 on this car). The transmission is a T5 (year and donor car unknown, but prob doesn't matter much?) I'd like to go with a 5 lug so I can have a larger variety of wheels, and with that, what can be done to the front to convert to a 5 lug as well? And for the larger motor, what springs are recommended? I'm not sure if they were changed already or not? They seem to handle the weight pretty well, and wheel well has a ni