• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

coolant

albeam

Donation Time
Hi All,

I do not want to start a coolant war, but does anybody use soluble oil in their radiator cooling systems for these vehicles or is the glycol mixture the way to go? i have read where soluble oil is not the answer with modern vehicles but what about these old girls, where i believe 60 years ago that oil was commonplace? i am no expert on the subject, just interested.

thanks

Albeam

Limey

Donation Time
Never heard of soluble oil but I'm only 55;). I was running a it warm (new tight engine) so switched to a water-less coolant and dropped 20f off the gauge.

alpine_64

Donation Time
Limey, what is water-less coolant? Is it similar to Water Wetter?
Water wetter is an additive to the water that drops the temp raising the boiling point and popular in some high performace applications.

Evans waterless is actaully its own fluid.. Lowers the temperature and makes the system low pressure and removes corrosion issued by removing the reactions with water and the metals

Warren

Bronze Level Sponsor
That's pretty funny soluble oil had a 1934 elevator in a building that used water soluble oil. I suppose it was state of the art in 34

jumpinjan

Bronze Level Sponsor
We had to use "Water-wetter" + water in the Tedder race car, because no glycol was allowed (SCCA). Why would anyone use that for the street, if I understand that correctly?
Jan

husky drvr

Platinum Level Sponsor