• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Please, be careful!

MSiege

Silver Level Sponsor
I've been working on little sports cars in my garage for a long time. I've had lots of them (too many by some accounts) and done all kinds of work. I'm no pro but I have some experience and know-how. That didn't help me when I ignored common sense, safety and timing. Part-way under my Alpine, adjusting a jack stand, and bam, it came down on me! Not much fun scrambling away, cut, bruised, with a broken collarbone, and shaken up. It's never happened to me before and it's no fun at all.

No one likes telling embarrassing stories about themselves but please, next time you are enthusiastically rolling along on a project under your car; stop, take a breath and remember this story! The car is fine, I'm recovering and my car project will continue but it's a perfect reminder to all of us to slow down and think twice about what you're doing and how you are doing it.

Ok, so a kind of funny aspect to this. After follow-up x-rays four days later, two doctors asked me to describe what happened. First question they each asked? - "Wow, what kind of car was it?" Kind of fun describing an Alpine they had never heard of. Glad to be alive to tell the story.

Best to everyone, be safe...

DanR

Diamond Level Sponsor
Always thankful for those friendly reminders!