• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Dash interchangeablity question

T2C Alpine II

Platinum Level Sponsor
Hi Folks:

I'm about to update the wiring on my Series II modified Alpine, it currently has a painted sheet metal dash and I 'd like something a little more traditional. I am a woodworker and have considered doing a custom dash, but there are also a few good looking dashes out there offered by other SAOCA members, in catalogs, etc.

Are early series dashes easily interchanged with later series dashboards?

I see previous threads where there are dashboard templates mentioned, but I can't seem to locate files on the board. Any help or information would be appreciated. I've just ordered a Rebel Wiring Harness and would like to update the dash when installing the harness.

Thank you

John Tremain

alpine_64

Donation Time
John,

the dashes GT and ST are interchangeable between early and late cars... but consider that the later cars use warning lights mounted into the dash where the early cars have the warning lights in the gauge faces of speedo and tach. So if making a wood dash for the early car either delete the warning light holes or use them for other functions. Also the igntion switch moved from the far side to close side on the later cars,

One last thing... you say you have a painted sheet metal dash? All alpines had either painted bakerlite, vynil cober plastic or wood.

T2C Alpine II

Platinum Level Sponsor
Thanks

Thanks Mr. King