• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Exhaust Header - 1725cc Any Advice?

NBGarage

Donation Time
Hello all,
I just got my Series V running with the new single Weber two stage carb and intake from Sunbeam Specialities. I am not an expert but it seems the engine now needs better flow on the exhaust side and I was wondering if anyone out there has installed a real tube header on their 1725. IF so did it help performance and are these headers still available? If so from where?

thanks

Jimjordan2

Donation Time
SS still shows a header in the catalog. You'd have to check his stock. Other than that, don't know anything about it. I know a lot of guys are running the Webber with the stock exhaust without a problem. Just my 2cents.

Ken Ellis

Donation Time
I have a Weber and stainless tube headers. It's all on an engine that came pre-tweaked from Jim Dimond, (Cactusmasher), but he got it from a local guy pre-tweaked as well. So I don't really know what else was done to it, but Jim D. may be able to find out if the previous owner is around, and remembers the car.

I don't have much basis for comparison vs. my previous clapped-out, Stromberg-suckin', cast-iron-header-havin' original engine, which was quite long overdue for freshening-up.

All I can report is reasonable, umm... "competitive" performance in comparison to Tom H and Jim Stone's cars a few years ago in the Wisconsin area.

Five Reviver

Silver Level Sponsor