• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Zenith Carbs--will not drop to idle

MadMax

Diamond Level Sponsor
Hello Sunbeam Guru's!!! I am new to the cause, wife and I just purchased our first Sunbeam (1960 Alpine, Series I). Love it, and car was meticulously restored to the 97% level, leaving mechanical issues. First is carbs. Has dual Zenith's in great shape. Car runs great, idles well at 700RPM. But...it will not drop to idle. Get the engine up above 2200 rpm, and will not drop down below 2000-2200. It is a linkage/butterfly closing issue. So I have taken the linkage apart from pedal to the connection to the carbs and there are no hang-ups or issues. I added a couple springs (old Porsche trick) and that did not work. Note, I can move the linkage by hand and get the butterfly valve to close and get smooth idle. But even with springs, can't get the linkage to retract that last little bit. So what do you think the issue is? To tight connections in the carbs holding up the butterfly valve? Pull the carbs and see (really rather not, but in for a pound..) Thanks!!!

bernd_st

Bronze Level Sponsor
First of all welcome here. A Series 1 is a very good choice ;).

Regarding your Zenith issue several things to be checked:

1) Check whether there are springs on the outer carb throttle/accelerator pump levers/mechanism and whether they are properly engaged.

2) Slightly oil the mechanisms at the connecting/ bearing points. A smear of grease on the throttle lever ball heads is helpful.