• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Sunbeam Alpine Cylinder Head?

JLuis

Donation Time
Hi guys,

I'm new to the Sunbeam Alpine forum. I came across this cylinder head which appears to be from a Sunbeam Alpine. Unfortunately, after spending several hours looking at pictures, I could not find one that looks exactly like the one I have. It does have the following numbers stamped 2 D 68 1557893. Not sure if the number 1 is part of the numbers or if it's an imperfection on the casting. I have attached some pictures, hopefully someone may help me identify this cylinder head to find out what model Sunbeam Alpine it came out of and what year.

Thank you!

alpine_64

Donation Time
Not for any "series" sunbeam alipne from 1959-68 or the fastback models from 68 onwards.

It doesn't appear to be for the mark alpine from 53-55 either.

Why do you think it's a sunbeam part?

Could it be from a Renault model?

JLuis

Donation Time
I was told it was from a Sunbeam Alpine. If it's not from a Sunbeam, it makes sense why I could not find one. :(

By the way, thank you for the prompt response!

JLuis

Donation Time
Still no luck. The casting marks seem, from the research I've done to be from a Sunbeam Alpine. Possibly a 1968?

RootesRacer

Donation Time
Still no luck. The casting marks seem, from the research I've done to be from a Sunbeam Alpine. Possibly a 1968?

What info do you have that suggests this?