• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Piston Ring Gap

Tom H

Platinum Level Sponsor
Guys, I hate to be such a pest about little details, but I've never done piston work on a car before. I'm assembling my 1725, now 1820 bored and stroked. I have custom pistons from Venolia, 3.248 bore. The instructions with the rings call for 3 to 4 thousandths per inch of bore on the top ring. That's about 10 to 13 thou gap. The WSM says 24 to 32 thou. The gap is already 18 thou before I do anything. Any problem leaving them as they are at 18 thou? My assumption is that the people who made the block have more "authority" on the proper gap than the people who made the ring. But maybe a compromise right at about 18 or 20 is best.

Thanks,

Tom

todd reid

Gold Level Sponsor
Tom,
I am not a piston ring expert, but I know that tollerances have been tighten up over the years as the Auto Industry has tried to "dry up" the combustion chamber to help lower emmissions. I would suggest you talk to the machine shop that bored your block and Venolia. I wouldn't blindly follow the workshop manual - it as old as our cars, and in this case probably a little out of date.

Ken Ellis

Donation Time