• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

New Member seeking advice.......

MarkinDC

Donation Time
Good evening, and thanks for allowing me into this group. While I'm not new to the old car hobby, I'm new to nearly all things (outside of general familiarity) Sunbeam Alpine. For many years I have owned several "yank tank" MOPARS, and always held affinity for British cars in general. Last year at the NCPC (National Chrysler Products Club) meet, a couple of Sunbeams (Alpines, I think) were being shown, which I was pleased (but confused) by until I saw the Pentastar on one of them, and learned that Sunbeams (and other Rootes makes, I believe) were at one time, owned by Chrysler.

This got me to looking around at them online. I have always been a fan of them, not getting any younger (just turned 58), and started exploring. A few weeks ago I came across one for sale that had of all things; an automatic transmission! which it seems they were available in the '64 and '65 model years?

One reason I likely have hesitated to spring for a Alpine (or any other sports car) is; that the last standard shift car I had was a Karmann-Ghia and that was 35+ years ago; and wasn't sure I could adjust to one again, especially since I live in town (Wash., DC) where traffic is so VERY unforgiving.....My thought was that THIS Sunbeam MIGHT make driving/keeping one more manageable for me.