• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Hood will not open!

woodybap

Silver Level Sponsor
Newbie here. I recently acquired a 1961 Alpine Series I. A lot of fun to drive but needs work to increase its reliability. I am looking forward to my “Project” but have encountered an early glitch. I cannot get the hood to open. It worked a few times but now nothing. The rod through the firewall moves in and out but the latch does not release. Could use some help getting the hood up so that I can get started with this mission.

alpine_64

Donation Time
If it pops open a little try sliding a coat hangar in the gap...

If not .. You have to unbolt the 4 bolts on each of the bonnet honges. Can access them via the fromt grill

65sunbeam

SAOCA Membership Director
Diamond Level Sponsor
Pull the hood release rod out and secure with a Vice Grips. Drive down a bumpy road and hopefully the hood will pop open. then lube all the moving parts. Check to make sure the spring and plunger on the hood is tight and has not broken loose too as they have a habit of the weld breaking on the plunger so it will wobble around.

beamdream

Gold Level Sponsor
If it pops open a little try sliding a coat hangar in the gap...

If not .. You have to unbolt the 4 bolts on each of the bonnet honges. Can access them via the fromt grill

Amen to that, if the pull rod is moving freely then it's probably disconnected from the latching device, only way forward is do as Michael suggested.

woodybap

Silver Level Sponsor