• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Clutch Slave cylinder problems

mackem

Donation Time
I have a problem with the clutch slave cylinder. when I depress the clutch, it doesn't seem to push the clutch fork far enough to disengage properly, resulting in having to force the gears.
I have a new master cylinder, new pipe and referbished slave cylinder.
The slave cylinder is mounted on the gearbox side of the bell housing.
The push rod is 4 inches long,
The bleed nipple is at the top and the system is free from air.
The pedal is not spongey, if anything, it seems too hard.
I have a Holbay engine/flywheel fitted with the 8 1/2 inch clutch. I presume the clutch fork and thrust bearing is Alpine.
Any ideas why i'm not getting full travel?
could it be the wrong master cylinder not pushing sufficent fluid through?
the push rod needs to be longer due to Holbay clutch set up?

husky drvr

Platinum Level Sponsor
Do you know if you have a high or low pedestal for the clutch release arm? Spring or diaphragm type clutch cover?

mackem

Donation Time
Do you know if you have a high or low pedestal for the clutch release arm? Spring or diaphragm type clutch cover?

Sorry i don't understand the first part of your reply, as for the clutch cover, it;s the type with the spring fingers running to the centre, if that makes any sense.

Rootes 66

Donation Time
Mackem