• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Alpine Towing capacity

Sunbeam Canada

Donation Time
Anyone know the towing capacity of a stock Alpine V?

If so, what would the maximum tow weight be?

I am curious to know if it is capable of towing an Imp.

If you have photos of the trailer hitch, that would be appreicated.

sunbeam74

Silver Level Sponsor
Ohan,

I had to smile when I saw your post.

I have no experience towing with the Alpine but the first thing that popped in to my mind was, "somebody is feeling My-T brave!" The next thing was, "I wonder how much an IMP can tow - just in case". Then, "Better put a tow hitch on the Imp, too" :)

Flat-towing a car is unusual but I am sure there is some rule of thumb that you can find on-line.

Steve

RootesRooter

Donation Time
When I used to be a subscriber to SAOC's "The Horn," I remember many photos of their big annual Alpine convention where a number of Alpines were towing small camping trailers.

The Alpine being a relatively light car with a short wheelbase, I don't think I would want to pull anything too heavy.

beamS3

Donation Time
As previously mentioned the SAOC have several members using towing arrangements. Ohan - check section O24 - 25 of their "The Alpine Guide" showing how to "Construct Your Own Towbar". Andy Goldsmith was one of the authors and mentions towing campers and "a fairly heavy trailer tent" he also states: "I feel the Alpine makes a marvelous towing car". Short hauls of an Imp should be no problem IMHO.

Good luck
Bob

v13311

Silver Level Sponsor