• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

A new fuel tank sealer.....epoxy!

jumpinjan

Bronze Level Sponsor
I have been using the "Red-Kote" sealer for 20 years now. Using it in the Sunbeam tanks and some motorcycle tanks. I recently pull one of my motorcycles out of about 12 years of storage, and I found the sealer has gone bad. There was a lot of gas in the tank and perhaps the sealer reacted to it? Anyway the sealer now looks like a cake of rust (that was my first thought), but the metal is fine and rust free!
I did some searching and I see that Caswell sells an epoxy sealer. Anyone use this or aware of it?
https://www.caswellplating.com/epoxy-gas-tank-sealer.html#
The Red-Kote can be thinned with MEK so one try is to fill the tank with MEK and hope it dissolves it and get it all out.
Jan

sunalp

Diamond Level Sponsor
Looks interesting and priced comparably to the POR 15 tank kits. Reviews were a little old
but may give it a try.

puff4

Platinum Level Sponsor
I don't know about any epoxy sealers, but I can tell you this.... ethanol is a solvent for epoxy, and will eventually degrade epoxy.... Perhaps that's not a good thing.

DanR

Diamond Level Sponsor
Mine is the POR 15.... Perhaps I should have purchased some stock there years ago:)

Tim R

Silver Level Sponsor