• Welcome to the new SAOCA website. Already a member? Simply click Log In/Sign Up up and to the right and use your same username and password from the old site. If you've forgotten your password, please send an email to membership@sunbeamalpine.org for assistance.

If you're new here, click Log In/Sign Up and enter your information. We'll approve your account as quickly as possible, typically in about 24 hours. If it takes longer, you were probably caught in our spam/scam filter.

Enjoy.

Clutch not completely releasing - master and slave cylinder sizes?

howehap

Platinum Level Sponsor
I'm helping a friend with his 1967 Alpine, I have several myself, so I have some experience with Sunbeams... The car does not want to shift into 1st or reverse if the engine is running, shifts fine if the engine is off. I found 90 wt oil in the transmission, changed it to the recommended 30 wt and it shifts a little better, but not acceptable. When the car is warmed up it gets a little harder to get in gear. The car was professionally restored as a side job, so it took ~ 10 years or so. Car shifted fine once-a-upon-a-time before the rebuild. I had no part in the restoration.

I have looked over all the past threads related to hard shifting, and I am wondering if the master and slave cylinders are no longer a matched set. The master cylinder has been replaced, and the slave cylinder is old and has a 1" bore. He also had a parts car of unknown age that was used as a parts car, so I'm not sure that the slave cylinder is from this car. I'm wondering what the correct bore dia should be for the master cylinder and slave cylinder. I forgot to measure the bore on the master cylinder when I had it apart.